Happy Rez Day

Early in the month of February I celebrated my Rez Day on Second Life. (For those of you who don’t know what a Rez Day is it is the day you started on Second Life.  If you didn’t know I’m amazed your reading my drunken rants & blogs. Kudos to you! Now get a Second Life & join me for drinks.) Is it kinda important? Well..I guess so.  A milestone & something to be proud of? Yeah. But nothing as major as “Talk Like A Pirate Day” or drinking a bottle of really good scotch. I would have written this post a long time ago when I actually had my rez day but I didn’t. I am not big on celebrating my rez day like it was a virtual Birthday. I’m proud to have hit the 3 year mark of being an resident of a virtual community. I didn’t see any point to celebrating it with prim cake & LOTS of prim booze. I see it as a time to kinda sit back & think about exactly WHAT THE HELL I have been doing in a virtual world for the past 3 years.

I have a few stand out moments that really stand out in my memory. First thing that comes to mind as I write this is a memory from my first year in-world. It was at a time where we were having MASSIVE SL issues that were causing people to turn into Ruth (I found a picture of Ruth HERE if you don’t know what I”m talking about.), shrink, contort, & just look plain horrible. I remember a group of us sitting in my then Second Life home holed up waiting to turn back to normal. We drank a LOT that night & actually turned a pretty crappy thing into something fun.

Friends have come & gone. New people have replaced the old. Some have put up with me since day one while others wandered off to do their own thing. We’ve drank our way through the good and the bad (Ok…so we’ve done a lot of drinking while in world…it’s our “thing”.) This is what celebrating your rez day is all about. Remembering back to when you first started & smiling.

So..there was no party. No buying of things to celebrate. No going “Hey…it’s my Rez Day…let’s PARTY.” It’s not me. Not something I do. To each his own.

Leave a Reply

