Popular Photo Editing Site Closing

On April 19th 2012 a popular photo editing site, Picnik, is closing down. They say they are going onto better things but I have absolutely no clue what “better things” are exactly. I don’t edit any of the Second Life photos I put up. The only thing I do to them is crop them. I don’t want to take away from what the world really looks like. The closest I come to changing things up is fooling around with windlight. Windlight is in Second Life therefore I’m not editing. Just working with what everyone has on SL. (And I usually always remember to even include what windlight setting I used. Sometimes I forget. I drink. What do you expect?)

Picnik does do a really good job of cropping photos down so at least that would have come in handy for me. Other than that I’ve never had a big use for photo editing programs except to play around with them. Sometimes it’s really great to screw around with a photo just to see what you come up with. Just for shits & giggles. That is where Picnik is fun. I don’t use any altered, other than cropped photos, on the SLA Review but it’s always fun to fool around on your own time.

Here are two examples of what I did while fooling around. I included a before & after to show you the huge difference in “fixed” SL photos compared to what you actually see in-world.

Oooo! You’re also getting a lesson in “fixed” SL photos & why I don’t use them. Its just not real to what you see. Feel free to click on the photos for a closer look.

What She Is Waiting For We May Never Know!

The altered photo sure is pretty but it’s not real to Second Life. 

That Pose Looks Like It Might Hurt After A Bit.

Look at me! I’m all “Grrrr sexy look & stuff”.

So we’ve learned two things today. Altering photos of Second Life to try to show people fashion, an object for sale, or to show what SL really looks like is nothing but lying. Flat out lying. Photoshop, GIMP, or whatever else you are using to alter the way an outfit looks by making it look better to your consumers is false advertising. Pure and simple. Using photo editing to pretty something up just for the hell of it, to have fun with it, personal use, or letting everyone know that the photos have been edited are fine.

Picnik does close down on April 19th so be sure to check it out if you just want to have a little bit of fun, make something you call “artistic”, or just kill a bit of time. All of the premium member items are now free for anyone to use till they close.

“Tipsy” Cerulean

Leave a Reply

