Stand4Love

STAND 4 LOVE is an awareness charity project to promote the visibility and rights of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Straight loving couples to have the right to marry and be recognized by the law across the world. There is a picture campaign on Second Life to help show support & help raise awareness. I ask that you please check out their website to learn more about how you can help.

Proud Of Who I Am!

To do my part to help raise awareness I felt that, besides sharing my photo, it was important that I share why it is so important to me. I’ve given my support to gay marriage & equal rights so many times yet I never feel comfortable discussion my own sexuality with anyone other than a very close circle of people.  Just writing this as well as making a photo took me over two hours. I have always been fearful of the backlash I would receive from family & friends if any of them were to know. Would they still look at me the same way? Would they still love me for who I am?

In my early twenties I had a very close friend who found out about my orientation & felt it her duty to inform me, via a letter, that I needed to “March my ass to the judgement counter because there is only gay or straight. There is no in-between.” How wrong she was yet how hurtful her remarks were. I still think about the letter she wrote me & how you think you know someone only to find out you were wrong.  When I would tell a close friend who I really was deep down inside it was often met with their thoughts on how it must mean I am a “slut” or I am “faking it” for attention. Telling my family was out of the question because I didn’t want them to have these same thoughts.

Being an individual who doesn’t see gender but only sees attraction & love towards others is a beautiful thing. After all of these years I have come to love myself. Just because you can be attracted to the same-sex or love the opposite doesn’t matter. Love is the only thing that matters. Loving yourself & who you really are is what matters.

I am a lucky person to have Bishop in my life that understands me & doesn’t judge me for who I am inside.  I am now at a point in my life that I am no longer afraid because I know that I am not alone. I am stronger because of it. I will always just be me.

This is, to think of it, the first time I have ever said a word in mass about it. I hope that it will inspire a few people to be who they really are. I am special. We all are special.

“Tipsy” Cerulean

Stand4Love

Leave a Reply

